D'Artifacts · My Life

Small is Beautiful

A few weeks ago I opened my first Etsy store! I can’t believe it has taken me this long because it really is my kind of marketplace.  I didn’t realize Etsy’s threshold for vintage was only 20 years until a few weeks ago.  It is a great platform, a place for creators and collectors to buy and sell, with an element of being a social media community, as well as online sales site.

I used to sell on eBay a dog’s age ago with my ex-husband, David Croft; back when eBay used to be *the* place to sell collectibles.  But it went downhill, and became more trouble than it was worth after a few years.

We turned our attention to bibliophiles and collectors located in the HRM, opening a little brick and mortar with  in Eastern Passage, and doing the local Flea Market set.  Back then, we foolishly thought we could support ourselves and a business on the small profits we were bringing in.  We eventually packed it in and I went off to start my career in research.

We always still dabbled in the trade though.  It was like we couldn’t get it out of our blood.  In addition to it being a decent income supplement, it provided a certain rush, and sense of satisfaction of having a unique and practical skill, that could both feed an addition *and* be profitable.

I have always loved participating in the second-hand economy.  I remember when I was a little kid in Dartmouth in the 80’s at the Portland and Woodlawn intersection, before the McDonald’s and Russell Lake Drive there were, what I remember to be, big wharehouse type structures, and every Sunday was Flea Market Day.  There were 100’s of vendors, and my cousin and I would walk over from my Grandparent’s House on Athorpe Drive every summer she was visiting from Yarmouth.

In high school, I learned about the beauty of second-hand clothing and thrift shopping.  My friends and I would make regular valley Frenchy’s runs to find the most distinct fashion we could.  The Thrift Shop has always been my #1 clothes supplier.

Then I met Dave right out of high school, and he began to show me how to get on the other side of the cash register, particularly with books, as it *literally* runs in his family… his family owned the Owl’s Nest Bookstore in Fredericton.  Eventually I branched out to collectibles from the 60’s – 90’s (mostly the toys I remembered and used to play with), and then selling things I made.  I used to do baby clothes and photography, now I focus on abstract painting and paper crafts (mostly magnets I make from pictures cut out of old books, and calendars)

When I was married, and now that I am single, I have relied on the second-hand and maker economy to put extra cash in my pocket.  It is small-scale capitalism at its best.  And now that I am facing my end of contract with iMOVe in March, I am looking for all the ways to put cash in my pocket.  I have been dreamin’ and schemin’ up ways to take a bit of time to myself (cause lord knows I need a bit of a break) without falling backwards into poverty again.

So I’ve decided to put a bit more of my energy into selling and marketing my wares through my D’artifacts brand (get it?), and try out this whole Etsy thing for a bit.  I am not ready for this to be more than a home-based business yet (I wonder if I am breaking any weird Dartmouth by-laws), but if I can master this whole Etsy thing… who knows where it will go!

